Statelaws.findlaw.com View wedding planning & venues

Alabama Marital Property Laws

Details: Marital Property Law. The legal term “marital property” is defined broadly as all the possessions and interests acquired after a couple gets married. Some states have gone further and recognizes that all marital property is considered equally owned by both parties as " community property ." And, after a divorce, this community property is

› Verified 6 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/alabama-law/alabama-marital-property-laws.html Go Now

• Get more: Findlaw cases and codesGo Now

Georgia Marriage License Requirements

Details: If you want to get married in Georgia, you'll need a marriage license . County probate courts grant marriage licenses to couples. If either you or your spouse-to-be is a resident of Georgia, then you may apply for the license in any county, regardless of where in the state the wedding will take place. However, if neither person is a Georgia resident, then you must apply for the license in the

› Verified 4 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/georgia-law/georgia-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

• Get more: Findlaw california cases and codesGo Now

Tennessee Marriage Laws

Details: Tennessee Code, Title 36, Chapter 3: Part 1, Section 36-3-101, et seq. ( License) Part 3, Section 36-3-301, et seq. ( Ceremony) Age Requirements. A marriage license cannot be issued if: Either person is under 17 years old*; or. One person is 17 years old and the other person is at least 4 …

› Verified 2 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/tennessee-law/tennessee-marriage-laws.html Go Now

• Get more: Findlaw lawyer directoryGo Now

Maryland Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: Even the most fairy tale wedding has to jump through a few hoops: the technical marriage requirements and the actual marriage license. Maryland residents must apply for a marriage license at the Circuit Court Clerk in the county in which the marriage will take place. Only one party needs to appear, and must provide full names, a place of

› Verified 7 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/maryland-law/maryland-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Florida Marriage License Requirements

Details: As you plan your wedding, be sure to read up on all the legal requirements for marriage. In order to get married in Florida, you'll need to apply for and receive a marriage license.. You and your future spouse must apply in person at the County Clerk's office.Make sure to have some form of identification and your Social Security numbers.

› Verified 4 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/florida-law/florida-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Michigan Marriage License Requirements

Details: If you want to get married in Michigan, you'll need a marriage license. The county clerk's office grants marriage licenses to couples. If either you or your future spouse is a resident of Michigan, then you must apply for the license in your county of residence, regardless of where in the state the wedding will take place. However, if neither person is a resident, then you'll have to apply for

› Verified 6 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/michigan-law/michigan-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Michigan Marriage Laws

Details: Michigan Compiled Laws. Section 551.1, et seq. ( Marriage and Solemnization Thereof) Section 551.101, et seq. ( Marriage License) Age Requirements. In order to get married, a person needs to be 18 years old. A person between the ages of 16 and 18 can get married if he or she obtains written consent from a parent or legal guardian.

› Verified Just Now

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/michigan-law/michigan-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Wisconsin Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: With everything else to worry about when it comes to planning a wedding, technical marriage requirements and getting the actual marriage license might seem pretty far down on the list. At the county clerk’s office you will need to fill out and sign a marriage license application and present identification, like a driver's license, passport, or birth certificate.

› Verified 9 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/wisconsin-law/wisconsin-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Virginia Marriage Laws

Details: All states, including Virginia, have marriage license requirements. Because you must be at least 18 years old to marry without consent, there are state law requirements for a marriage involving a minor. Persons that are at least 16, but under 18 must obtain consent to marry unless they are emancipated minors.

› Verified Just Now

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/virginia-law/virginia-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Pennsylvania Marriage Licenses and Blood Tests …

Details: The following table highlights the main provisions of the Pennsylvania's marriage laws. See Marriage Laws Overview, prenuptial agreements, Tips for Marriage, and Marriage FAQs for more information. 18 years old. Applicants between 16-18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian to provide written consent to the marriage.

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/pennsylvania-law/pennsylvania-marriage-licenses-and-blood-tests.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Louisiana Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: Marriage Requirements. Be aware that your fairy tale wedding might never become a reality if you don’t take care of a few technical marriage requirements and get an actual marriage license.Louisiana residents must apply for a marriage license in the parish in which one of you resides while out-of-state residents can apply in the county where the marriage will take place.

› Verified 9 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/louisiana-law/louisiana-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Nevada Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

Details: Before the wedding, Nevada marriage license and blood requirements need to be followed in order for the union to be official on the couple's magical day. This is a quick summary of the marriage license and blood test requirements in Nevada. …

› Verified 7 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/nevada-law/nevada-marriage-license-and-blood-test-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Iowa Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: Marriage Requirements. Even a perfect romance has to jump through a few hoops to become perfectly legal. Each state has their own marriage requirements that prospective couples have to meet, one of which is obtaining an actual marriage license.Iowans can submit a marriage license application at a county recorder's office and by providing full names, identification, and one witness …

› Verified 9 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/iowa-law/iowa-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

District of Columbia Marriage License Requirements

Details: From the perfect flowers to the quintessential bridesmaid dresses and groomsmen suits, the items on a marriage to-do list can be overwhelming. However, the most important item on that list is a properly obtained marriage license. District of Columbia marriage license requirements state how old each party must be, how many days before the wedding that the marriage license must be obtained, …

› Verified 2 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/dc-law/district-of-columbia-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Georgia Marriage Laws

Details: Minor Marriage. Since you must be at least 18 years old to marry without consent, there are state law requirements for a marriage involving a minor. In Georgia, if a minor (at least 16) wants to marry, they can only get married with parental consent. However, a minor can get a marriage license without parental consent in the event of pregnancy

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/georgia-law/georgia-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Alabama Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: Marriage age laws in Alabama are highlighted in the table below. Code of Alabama 30-1-4, 5: Minimum age for contracting marriage; Consent of parents and bond required for marriage of certain minors. Marriage under 16 is voidable, not void. Marriage between 16 and 18 without parental consent is not grounds for annulment.

› Verified 5 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/alabama-law/alabama-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Florida Marriage

Details: Florida Marriage. Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last updated June 20, 2016. If wedding bells will be ringing in your near future, you undoubtedly expect your life to change. You're prepared to take on the new personal, familial, and household responsibilities that …

› Verified 3 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/florida-law/florida-marriage.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Georgia Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: Georgia's marriage age requirement laws allow individuals as young as 17 to marry, but they must be emancipated, must complete a premarital education course, and cannot marry anyone who is more than four years older. Georgia previously allowed minors as young as 16 to marry with parental consent (and without consent in the event of a pregnancy

› Verified 5 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/georgia-law/georgia-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

California Marriage Law

Details: California Marriage Law: Basics Requirements. Marriage in California became available to gay couples after the U.S. Supreme Court overturned Proposition 8, which banned same-sex marriage.Under California marriage law, the individuals must be of appropriate age (18 or older without parental consent), both must be consenting to the marriage, and they must have capacity.

› Verified 3 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/california-law/california-marriage-law.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Washington Marriage Laws

Details: Washington Revised Code Section 26.04.010, et seq. ( Marriage) Age Requirements. A person must be 18 years old to get married; however, a 17-year-old may get married with parental consent. Also, an individual may get married under the age of 17 if approved by a superior court judge (based on a showing of necessity). Prohibited Marriages.

› Verified 4 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/washington-law/washington-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

North Carolina Marriage License Requirements

Details: If you're headed down the aisle in North Carolina, you'll need a marriage license. You can get one by filing an application with a County Register of Deeds Office. You will both have to appear at the clerk's office, fill out an application, sign it, and pay a license fee, usually $60. You can get your marriage license immediately (there isn't a waiting period).

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/north-carolina-law/north-carolina-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Colorado Marriage Laws

Details: The marriage license is valid for 35 days after you receive it from the courts, so your wedding needs to take place within that timeframe, or you will need to get a new license. Common Law Marriage The state of Colorado recognizes common law marriage ( Section 14-2-1095 ), which is a marriage in every way except for the marriage license.

› Verified Just Now

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/colorado-law/colorado-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

California Marriage License Requirements

Details: Getting married in any one of California's 58 counties is fairly easy. You'll just need to follow a few simple steps before you can walk down the aisle. This includes applying for a marriage license through your County Clerk's office, having an eligible person officiate over the ceremony, and filing the original marriage license with the County Recorder within ten days.

› Verified Just Now

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/california-law/california-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Illinois Marriage License Requirements

Details: Illinois 5/212 (prohibited marriages) Requirements: Age, Residency, and Health. To get a marriage license in Illinois without consent, you must be at least 18 years old. Consent for Underage Marriage. To get a license when you're at least 16, you must show proof of the consent of both of your parents and proof that the marriage isn't prohibited.

› Verified 6 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/illinois-law/illinois-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Indiana Marriage Laws

Details: Making the decision to get married is one of the most significant choices that you'll make in life. Whether you've decided on a splashy wedding or an intimate affair, there are legal matters that must be addressed before you walk down the aisle, including meeting specific age, consent, and capacity requirements.. Although marrying in Indiana isn't drastically different than marrying in any

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/indiana-law/indiana-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Indiana Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: Marriage Requirements. Be aware that your fairy tale wedding might never become a reality if you don’t take care of a few technical marriage requirements and get an actual marriage license.Indiana residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which one of you resides while out-of-state residents can apply in the county where the marriage will take place.

› Verified 5 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/indiana-law/indiana-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Maryland Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

Details: No wedding day can be perfect without jumping through a few hoops first. In order for their union to be legally binding, couples must meet the technical marriage requirements and get their actual marriage license.Applications for a marriage licenses must be filed with the Circuit Court Clerk in the county in which the marriage will take place.

› Verified 1 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/maryland-law/maryland-marriage-license-and-blood-test-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

North Carolina Marriage Laws

Details: You can almost taste the wedding cake and can't wait to start your new life with the love of your life, but you still have a few items to check off your list. Marriage is a legal contract between two parties; and while this isn't exactly the most romantic notion, it's important to make sure that you are in fact eligible to marry and have a

› Verified 2 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/north-carolina-law/north-carolina-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Connecticut Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: Marriage Requirements. Be aware that your fairy tale wedding might never become a reality if you don’t take care of a few technical marriage requirements and get an actual marriage license.Connecticut residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which one of you resides while out-of-state residents can apply in the county where the marriage will take place.

› Verified 3 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/connecticut-law/connecticut-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Arizona Marriage Laws

Details: The ceremony doesn't have to be a wedding, but it must be performed by a person authorized to solemnize marriages in Arizona. Covenant Marriage You have two options: a standard marriage or a covenant marriage because Arizona recognizes "covenant marriages" ( a marriage contract where the couple promises to remain married for life and not to get

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/arizona-law/arizona-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Texas Marriage License Requirements

Details: Texas Family Code Section 2.008 ( issuance of license) Texas Family Code Section 2.006, Section 2.007, 2.0071 ( absent applicant matters) Age requirements. Age Requirements. Applicants for the marriage license must be at least 18 years old to get married without consent. A person under the age of 18 must present the following to the county clerk:

› Verified Just Now

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/texas-law/texas-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Minnesota Marriage Laws

Details: Minnesota became the second state (after Delaware) to ban child marriages. The legal marriage age was raised to 18 in May 2020. Previously, children as young as 16 were permitted to marry in the state with parental consent. The child marriage ban prohibits marriage by …

› Verified 2 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/minnesota-law/minnesota-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

California Annulment and Prohibited Marriage Laws

Details: Annulments and Prohibited Marriages. States have their own laws regarding annulment and the various types of marriages that are prohibited (such as those between blood relatives). California annulment and prohibited marriage laws govern the grounds for annulment (a court ruling that the marriage was never valid in the first place), time limits

› Verified 9 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/california-law/california-annulment-and-prohibited-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Florida Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Details: Other Marriage Requirements in Florida. Along with being old enough, there are a few other marriage requirements under Florida law. In order to get a valid Florida marriage license, you will need a picture ID and either a social security card, passport, or I-94 card.If either you or your soon-to-be spouse has been married previously, you will need to provide the date of divorce or a copy of

› Verified 5 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/florida-law/florida-marriage-age-requirements-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Pennsylvania Annulment and Prohibited Marriage Laws …

Details: The main provisions of Pennsylvania's annulment and prohibited marriage laws are listed in the table below, while a brief discussion follows. See FindLaw's Marriage Law section for related articles. Between ancestor and descendant, aunt and nephew, brother and sister, uncle and niece, first cousins, bigamous; one party is weak-minded, unsound

› Verified 3 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/pennsylvania-law/pennsylvania-annulment-and-prohibited-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Illinois Marriage Laws

Details: Certain marriages are prohibited in the state of Illinois, including: When a former marriage is undissolved; Marriages between close relations (ancestor/descendant, brother/sister, uncle/niece, aunt/nephew, half or whole first cousins, unless parties older than 50 and no chance of reproduction); and. Common law marriages.

› Verified Just Now

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/illinois-law/illinois-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Texas Marriage Laws

Details: Age Requirements. In Texas, you must be at least 18 to marry without consent; persons that are over age 16, but under 18 must obtain consent to marry. All states including Texas have specific marriage license requirements. Marriage Licenses. Blood tests and/or physicals aren't required prior to issuance of the license; and.

› Verified 4 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/texas-law/texas-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Kentucky Annulment and Prohibited Marriage Laws

Details: However, marriages aren’t void due to the person solemnizing the wedding being ineligible to legally solemnize the marriage. This requires the marriage to be consummated with at least one of the parties believing the officiant had the appropriate authority and that they are legally married.

› Verified 5 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/kentucky-law/kentucky-annulment-and-prohibited-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Wisconsin Marriage License and Blood Test …

Details: To get married in Wisconsin, you and your future spouse need a marriage license.Here's what you need to know to get your marriage license in Wisconsin. You and your betrothed need to go down to the local county clerk's office together with your photo ID and official birth certificate at least 6 days, but not more than 30 days, before your wedding ceremony.

› Verified 3 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/wisconsin-law/wisconsin-marriage-license-and-blood-test-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Colorado Annulment and Prohibited Marriage Laws

Details: The table below outlines Colorado annulment and prohibited marriage laws. Code Sections. Revised Statutes Section 14-10-111: Declaration of (Marriage) Invalidity, 14-2-110: Prohibited Marriage, and 18-6-301: Incest. Grounds for Annulment. No consent due to mental incapacity, intoxication, or drug use of one or both parties.

› Verified 5 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/colorado-law/colorado-annulment-and-prohibited-marriage-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Virginia Marriage License Laws

Details: If you want to get married in Virginia, you'll have to get a marriage license first. Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Virginia marriage license . You and your future partner both have to appear at the clerk's office. These offices are usually located in the county circuit court. Next, you'll fill out an application, sign it, and pay a

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/virginia-law/virginia-marriage-license-laws.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Kansas Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

Details: In Kansas, you must be 18 years of age or older (or have the consent of both parents, a legal guardian, or a district court judge if 16-17 years of age), provide a certified birth certificate, and pay a fee, the cost of which may vary depending upon the county. There are no residency or blood test requirements. This is a quick summary of Kansas marriage license and blood test requirements.

› Verified 7 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/kansas-law/kansas-marriage-license-and-blood-test-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Marriage Laws in Missouri

Details: Bigamy: One spouse was already married at the time of the subsequent marriage. Underage: A spouse was less than eighteen years of age, and did not have the required parental or court consent. Closely Related: Missouri does not allow marriage between first cousins or …

› Verified 3 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/missouri-law/marriage-laws-in-missouri.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

New York Marriage License Requirements

Details: While a wedding is a celebration or ceremony marking the union of two individuals, and by extension two families, marriage is a civil arrangement made under state jurisdiction. All states require parties to a marriage to obtain a marriage license from the local clerk's office prior to making the union formal through the ceremony.

› Verified 6 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/new-york-law/new-york-marriage-license-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Mississippi Marriage License and Blood Test …

Details: Before a couple can be legally married in Mississippi, they must obtain a marriage license from the county clerk. As long as the applicants aren't related to each other or already married to someone else (see incestuous and void marriages Mississippi Code section 93-1-1), the clerk will likely issue a marriage license to the couple.The following table outlines Mississippi's main marriage

› Verified 7 days ago

› Url: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/mississippi-law/mississippi-marriage-license-and-blood-test-requirements.html Go Now

› Get more:  WeddingGo Now

Related topics